Joe Muscolino

Share This

The infraspinatus of the rotator cuff group. The supraspinatus and teres minor have been ghosted in.
The infraspinatus is one of the four Rotator Cuff muscles. The four Rotator Cuff muscles are:



  • The infraspinatus attaches from the infraspinous fossa of the scapula to the greater tubercle of the humerus.



  • Laterally rotates the arm at the glenohumeral joint
  • Horizontally extends the arm at the glenohumeral joint



  1. The infraspinatus and teres minor both laterally rotate the arm at the shoulder (glenohumeral) joint.
  2. The infraspinatus is the “I” of SITS (Supraspinatus, Infraspinatus, Teres minor, Subscapularis), an acronym for the rotator cuff group.