Rotator Cuff Group

Joe Muscolino

Share This

The three posterior muscles of the rotator cuff group: supraspinatus, infraspinatus, and teres minor.

Superior view of the rotator cuff group.

There are four rotator cuff muscles (SITS):


  1. All four rotator cuff muscles attach onto tubercles of the head of the humerus (greater and lesser tubercles).
  2. The rotator cuff muscles function primarily to stabilize the head of the humerus into the glenoid fossa of the scapula when the distal end of the humerus is being raised into the air.