Hyoid Group

Joe Muscolino

Share This

The hyoid group of muscles, superficial view.

The hyoid group of muscles, deeper view.

There are four Infrahyoid muscles and four Suprahyoid muscles:

Infrahyoids: sternohyoid, sternothyroid, thyrohyoid, omohyoid

Suprahyoids: digastric, stylohyoid, mylohyoid, geniohyoid



Most of the attachments of the hyoids are indicated in their names:

  • As a group, the infrahyoids attach superiorly into the hyoid bone.
  • As a group, the suprahyoids attach inferiorly into the hyoid bone and superiorly into the mandible.